The mission of FILARMONIKA Music Publishing is to discover and promote the musical repertoire of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Search Results

Composer Title Country Duration Instrumentation Score Parts
Garrido-Lecca, Celso (b. 1926)

Garrido-Lecca, Celso (b. 1926)


Celso Garrido-Lecca was born in Piura, Peru in 1926. He began his musical training in the National Conservatory of Lima, later continuing his studies in composition with professor Rodolfo Holzmann in the same institution. In 1950, he traveled with a scholarship to Santiago, Chile, to conclude and master his musical studies. Four years later he became the musical adviser and composer of the Institute of the Theater at the University of Chile. He stayed there for ten years and during that time he wrote a large amount of music for the various theater works. In 1965 he began to teach in the Department of Composition in the Faculty of Science and Musical Arts at the same University, later becoming Chairman of the Department. In 1964 Garrido-Lecca won a scholarship to work with Aaron Copland at the Tanglewood Music Festival. Upon his return to Peru in 1973, he became Professor of Composition of the National Conservatory of Lima where, soon after, he was appointed Director of this institution until 1979. The musical production of Garrido-Lecca includes chamber and symphonic works, which have been performed in numerous concerts and festivals in America, Europe and Asia. Among his most renowned works are “Intihuatana” for string quartet, “Antaras” for double string quartet and double bass, “Laudes I and II” for orchestra, “Elegía a Machu-Picchu” (performed by the New York Philharmonic in 1967), “Concerto for Cello and Orchestra”, “Simphony Nº2”, “Concerto for Guitar”, and the multimedia work “El Movimiento y el Sueño” for double choir, two narrators and orchestra, among others. During his life as a composer he has been awarded many composition prizes both in Peru and in Chile. Among his award-winning compositios are “Divertimento”, “El movimiento y el sueño”, “Trio para un nuevo tiempo”, “Cuarteto Nº3” and “Retablos sinfónicos”. Since 1983 he traveled frequently to Chile, actively participating in the musical life of that country. He is member of the Composer’s Society of Chile and of the Copyright Society SCD. He has been awarded the International Institute of Education scholarship in 1961 and the Guggenheim Foundation scholarship in 1963. In 1982 he was decorated by the Spanish government with the Order of Civilian Merit. In 1997 the government of Chile awarded him the “Bernardo O’Higgins” Order for his contribution to the strenghtening of the relations betwewn Chile and Peru. In 2000 he won the "Tomás Luis de Victoria" Prize from the Fundación Autor SGAE of Spain.


Published Works

  • SUITE PERUANA, for strings
  • LAUDES I, for orchestra
  • SOLILOQUIO II, for cello
  • ORDEN No.1, for solo piano
  • POÉTICAS, for two guitars
  • DÚO CONCERTANTE, for charango and guitar
  • ELEGÍA A MACHU PICCHU, for orchestra
  • DIÁLOGOS COTIDIANOS, for clarinet and guitar
  • DANZAS POPULARES ANDINAS, for flute and guitar
  • LAUDES II, for chamber ensemble
  • SECUENCIAS, for violin and orchestra
  • DIVERTIMENTO, for woodwind quintet
  • STRING QUARTET No.1 (Commissioned by the Library of Congress - Washington D.C.)
  • INTIHUATANA, for string quartet
  • ANTARAS, for double string quartet and double bass
  • DONDE NACEN LOS CÓNDORES, for male choir and andean instruments
  • DANZAS POPULARES ANDINAS, for violin and piano
  • EL MOVIMIENTO Y EL SUEÑO, for chorus, 2 narrators, and orchestra
  • TRÍO PARA UN NUEVO TIEMPO, for violin, cello, and piano
  • PRELUDIO Y TOCCATA, for solo piano
  • SIMPAY, for guitar
  • SONATA FANTASÍA, for cello and piano
  • SOLILOQUIO I, for solo flute
  • EVENTOS, for chamber orchestra
  • AMARU, for flute and string quartet
  • SOLILOQUIO III, for solo double bass
  • CANCIONES DE HOGAR, for voice and chamber ensemble
  • SYMPHONY No.2, "Introspections"
  • OCTAVIANAS, for voice and chamber ensemble
  • CANTO VIVO EN EL ATARDECER, for baritone and orchestra
  • DANZAS POPULARES ANDINAS, for chamber orchestra
  • EPITAFIO ENCENDIDO, for narrator and orchestra
  • MÚSICA PARA TEATRO, for woodwind quintet
  • MUSICHARÁN, for charango and chamber ensemble
Peru --- The complete catalog of illustrious Peruvian composer CELSO GARRIDO-LECCA, is available to purchase for the first time. The collection comprises 49 works across various genres. Receive a 20% discount when purchased as a package. $1,300.00 scores only
View Purchase
Showing 1 - 1 (of 1)

Mailing List

If you would like to receive information on our new music publications, please submit your information below.

Your email address:   Your name (optional):